Bank Profile

banner directors

The Board of Directors has responsibility for the general conduct of the ordinary operations of the Bank and, in this regard, exercises all the powers delegated to it by the Board of Governors to discharge the said responsibility.

The Board of Directors consists of not more than ten Non-Executive Directors and the Bank's President as an Executive Director.

Abdel-Rahaman Taha,

Dr. Taha holds a PhD in Business Administration from the University of California, Los Angeles and an MBA from the University of California, Berkeley. He has over 40 years’ experience in the management of regional multilateral development finance institutions focusing on trade finance and export credit and political risk insurance, covering African and other developing countries.

Dr. Taha previously served as the CEO of the Islamic Corporation for the Insurance of Investment and Export Credit.

He is an Independent Non-Executive Director.

Gerard Bussier

Gerard Bussier is a Director at the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development of the Government of Mauritius, heading the Directorate that deals with resource mobilization, bilateral agreements, and economic cooperation including international affairs and trade. Mr. Bussier is a Certified Chartered Accountant (UK) and a Certified Fraud Examiner (USA). He also holds a Master in Business Administration from the University of Mauritius with specialization in finance.

He is the Non-Executive Director representing Rwanda, Mauritius, Zimbabwe and Eritrea.

Mr. Gerome Masankisi Kamwanga,

Kamwanga is an economist and a holder of a Master's of Science in Mathematical Financial Modeling from the University of Witwatersrand in South Africa. He has over 7 years' experience in Financial Management gained from DRC and South Africa. He is currently a Senior Advisor in charge of Cooperation at the office of the Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of Congo. He is the Non-Executive Director for the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Comoros and Sudan.


Isabel Maria Sumar

Isabel Sumar is the National Director of Cooperation in the Mozambican Ministry of Finance responsible for managing cooperation with International partners supporting the state budget and coordination of the SADC Regional Integration.

She possesses expertise in the oil and gas industry, management of public enterprises. Ms. Sumar holds an MSc in Public Economic Management and Finance from the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom and an Honors Degree in International Relations and Diplomacy from the National based University (ISRI)

She is the Non-Executive Director representing Kenya, Zambia, Somalia and Mozambique.

John Bosco Sebabi,

John Bosco Sebabi is the Deputy Director General of the Rwanda Social Security Board in charge of funds management. He holds an MSc in International Economics, Banking and Finance from Cardiff University, Wales (The United Kingdom) and a BSc in Economics and an Associate degree in Economics. Mr. Sebabi is a fellow of the Fletcher Leadership Program for Financial Inclusion of the Fletcher School, Tufts University, and holds an executive education certificate from the Advanced Management Program (AMP).

He is the Non-Executive Director representing All other Shareholders.

Juste Rwamabuga,

Juste Rwamabuga is a Burundian national with over 40 years’ experience in public, private and international organizations, including, the World Bank, International Finance Corporation and the African Development Bank. He previously served as Division Manager, Transports Infrastructure Department of the African Development Bank. He holds an MBA from the University Of Montreal, Canada.

He is the Independent Non-Executive Director.

Mingzhi Liu,

Mingzhi Liu is the Chief Representative for the People’s Bank of China at the Africa office in Tunis holds a Masters and a PhD in Economics from the Peking University in Beijing, China. He is currently working as Chief Representative for Africa of the People’s Bank of China (Central Bank of China) at the Bank’s office in Tunis. Mr. Liu possesses over 12 years of experience in development banking in Africa and China.

He is the Non-Executive Director representing Non-African States.


Mohamed Kalif

Mohamed Kalif is the Head of Financial Intermediation of the African Development Bank (AfDB) which covers commercial banks, trade finance, SMEs, insurance, leasing and regional development financial institutions. Before joining the Private Sector Department of the AfDB, Mr. Kalif was chief of risk of African Development Bank for a period of 7 years. Mr. Kalif has accumulated 24 years banking experiences, including of risk management, corporate banking and project finance lending in commercial banks and development financial institutions environment.

He is the Non-Executive Director representing African Institutions.

Dr. Natu El Mamry Mwamba,

Dr. Natu E. Mwamba holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom and a Master’s Degree from the University of Dar es Salaam. She is the Deputy Governor of the Bank of Tanzania and was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Dar es Salaam prior to her appointment. Dr. Mwamba is an accomplished and published researcher in various areas including economics, social and gender issues.

She is the Non-Executive Director representing Djibouti, Eqypt and Tanzania


Peter Simbani

Peter Simbani heads the Department of Economic Planning and Development which is responsible for the formulation of the medium to long-term development plans for the country, the formulation of the public sector investment programme and monitoring the performance of sector plans. He has over 27 years’ experience in aid and debt management.

He holds a Master’s degree in International Development Studies from the University of Bradford and a Bachelor’s degree in Social Sciences from Chancellor College of the University of Malawi.

He is the Non-Executive Director representing Seychelles, Burundi, Ethiopia and Malawi.



PTA Bank. ©2017. All rights reserved